Welcome to the Best Free Peachfronted Conure Information on the Planet

I've lived with Peachfront Conures Aratinga aurea for 30 years. I've bred 'em, trained 'em, even visited Bolivia to observe them in the wild. For more about me, click right here.

NOTE: Photobucket stopped hosting years worth of my photos without warning. Please be patient while I am replacing them.

photos and articles copyright 2012-2018 by elaine radford, google plus verified author

Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Pet Bird, on almost any device: right here.

It's real easy to contact me. Tweet or direct message me through Twitter by hitting this button:


Got a Peachfront, or thinking about getting a Peachfront? Here are some key posts you might like to read:

Some recent entries you might enjoy: happy 27th birthday to courtney - 2017-04-15
i no longer own the peachfront dot com domain - 2017-04-09
ronnie 1990-2017 - 2017-02-15
Ronnie and Sheldon try again - 2017-02-11
clear eggs 2017 - 2017-01-23

Even $1 buys several servings of mixed vegetables for my Peachfronts. Give my Peachfronts a gift by donating right here:

hosted by DiaryLand.com

6:58 p.m. 2014-01-04

cold winter blues

We do have a protected bird porch complete with heat lamps near the roostboxes in each flight. However, it is proving to be an exceptionally cold winter, and stubborn Courtney often refuses to use the nestbox. That pulls Dale out of the box so that she can snuggle next to him. Therefore, if we have a hard freeze coming, I really have to catch them up and bring them inside. And I've already had to keep them inside more days this winter than, I think, the last four or five winters all put together.

So it was time to invest in a couple of new winter cages for each pair. I already mentioned that I'd bought a new cage for Courtney and Dale. Since it seemed to work well -- and Sheldon and Ronnie's winter cage was getting VERY rusty -- we decided to upgrade them as well. The set-up is pretty basic. These indoor cages are in no way represented as being adequate for permanent housing for peachfront conures -- especially not pairs. My birds spend most of their time in large flights that give them access to natural sunlight. At that, the smaller quarters only seem to be acceptable because they're getting older and slowing down. (They're around 23 years old.) They get really chewy in the breeding season, and I'm not sure how these cages would even hold up at that time of year -- but they seem to be working for a temporary winter home. They might work for travel and hurricane evacuation cages as well, although they might be a tad big for that purpose.

The peachfronts can open the doors and windows, so they have to be secured. You may notice the industrial-grade ties and the metal clips. We also did a minor modification on each roof, so that half the roof swings out like a hinge to allow the conures to step out or climb down through the top.

One issue: In the photo of the cage set-up, you can see that I didn't put a visual barrier between the cages. That's because the pairs weren't having any problems in the old winter cages which were placed just as close together.

However, the two new cages must have produced some "grass is greener" real estate envy, because suddenly Courtney decided he didn't like the way Dale was checking out Sheldon and Ronnie's cage -- and he picked a rather physical fight with her. Nobody got hurt, but it still looked unpleasant. I have now separated the two cages and put a large piece of furniture between them so they can't see each other. The pairs have now calmed down and are back to sitting together in peace. You learn something new every day.

previous - next

Check out my complete and highly extensive archives.

Support the page by buying something safely and securely through Amazon. I never see your private information, but I get a small commission if you click through one of my buttons. My conure's favorite flavor of Nutriberries. Try it now!