Welcome to the Best Free Peachfronted Conure Information on the Planet

I've lived with Peachfront Conures Aratinga aurea for 30 years. I've bred 'em, trained 'em, even visited Bolivia to observe them in the wild. For more about me, click right here.

NOTE: Photobucket stopped hosting years worth of my photos without warning. Please be patient while I am replacing them.

photos and articles copyright 2012-2018 by elaine radford, google plus verified author

Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Pet Bird, on almost any device: right here.

It's real easy to contact me. Tweet or direct message me through Twitter by hitting this button:


Got a Peachfront, or thinking about getting a Peachfront? Here are some key posts you might like to read:

Some recent entries you might enjoy: happy 27th birthday to courtney - 2017-04-15
i no longer own the peachfront dot com domain - 2017-04-09
ronnie 1990-2017 - 2017-02-15
Ronnie and Sheldon try again - 2017-02-11
clear eggs 2017 - 2017-01-23

Even $1 buys several servings of mixed vegetables for my Peachfronts. Give my Peachfronts a gift by donating right here:

hosted by DiaryLand.com

5:56 a.m. 2013-04-29

more about peachfront conure versus half moon conure identification...

A previous entry raised a question from a reader: Can't you tell the difference between the peachfronted conures and half moon conures by the color or size of the birds?

If the bird is in the hand -- and pet birds are frequently in the hand -- it's OK to use size. But if you're identifying a single bird in a video or in the field, I'm always very cautious about just using size.

What is size? A Northern Cardinal is a big bird seen through binoculars right after you've been inspecting hummingbirds. Then it comes up to tap your window to ask for some seed, and you look at it naked eye, and suddenly it's a small bird.

In any event, there can be considerable size variation in peachfronted conures, to the point where a significantly larger subspecies has been proposed.

I also don't like to rely on subtle shades of color if you're just looking at one bird -- or, worse, video or photo of a bird.

Instead, start with pattern and proportion. In the case of the peachfront versus the half moon, getting a look at the beak will quickly settle the question. Peachfront conures have all-black bills. Half moons have a broad area of light "horn" color on their upper mandible.

Once you know that, you can pick out a peachfront from a half moon at a glance. No struggle with relative size or shades of green required.

Peachfront's Note: This is a You Tube video, and the maker of the video/owner of the half moon conure own the copyright. I'm just sharing it here using You Tube's share feature. If it's your video and you no longer want it here, let me know and I'll remove it. Thanks!

previous - next

Check out my complete and highly extensive archives.

Support the page by buying something safely and securely through Amazon. I never see your private information, but I get a small commission if you click through one of my buttons. My conure's favorite flavor of Nutriberries. Try it now!