Welcome to the Best Free Peachfronted Conure Information on the Planet

I've lived with Peachfront Conures Aratinga aurea for 30 years. I've bred 'em, trained 'em, even visited Bolivia to observe them in the wild. For more about me, click right here.

NOTE: Photobucket stopped hosting years worth of my photos without warning. Please be patient while I am replacing them.

photos and articles copyright 2012-2018 by elaine radford, google plus verified author

Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Pet Bird, on almost any device: right here.

It's real easy to contact me. Tweet or direct message me through Twitter by hitting this button:


Got a Peachfront, or thinking about getting a Peachfront? Here are some key posts you might like to read:

Some recent entries you might enjoy: happy 27th birthday to courtney - 2017-04-15
i no longer own the peachfront dot com domain - 2017-04-09
ronnie 1990-2017 - 2017-02-15
Ronnie and Sheldon try again - 2017-02-11
clear eggs 2017 - 2017-01-23

Even $1 buys several servings of mixed vegetables for my Peachfronts. Give my Peachfronts a gift by donating right here:

hosted by DiaryLand.com

11:29 a.m. 2012-12-04

baby blue-throated macaws near loreto, beni, bolivia
� 2011 by elaine radford
the baby blue-throated macaws we observed near loreto in beni, bolivia in april 2011

a keystone species for peachfronted conure habitat, the blue-throated macaw

There are plenty of Peachfront Conures to be seen in lowland Bolivia. However, they share this habitat with another species that is struggling, the Blue-throated Macaw. The species has been almost wiped out in the wild, entirely due to the efforts of human interference, especially the smugglers. Where they are not harassed, they can happily share the land with the cattle ranchers, as I saw during my visit.

If any of my readers are thinking about Christmas giving to help the parrots, the Blue-throated Macaw seems like a natural cause, since preserving their habitat also preserves Peachfronted Conure habitat.

Visit the Asociacion Armonia website for information on the Blue-throated Macaw (and other interesting programs, such as the Red-fronted Macaw) that you can support with your donations or even by planning a trip to the region with the help of Bird Boliva.

Bird Bolivia and Asociacion Armonia are the folks I used for my trip. But if you can't go all the way to Bolivia, here is another way to donate directly to Asociacion Armonia:

American Bird Conservancy's Asociacion Armonia donation page.

It may be easier for some people to donate through the World Parrot Trust by clicking the button below:

Support the efforts to save the parrots!

The Blue-throated Macaw is one of the critically endangered Top 3 in this year's Christmas campaign. Your contribution will be matched until Jan. 31, 2013.

Disclaimer: I think it should be obvious that I am not a professional fund raiser, and I don't get any part of your donation nor do I know how much (or if) you donated. Nor did any of these folks ask me to mention them on my site, and they are never to blame if you see something on my site that you don't like. I just think this species is a great cause, and it seems like a natural, because this bird has a lot of spirit, is very healthy, can co-exist very well where people do not catch or kill them, and it's an example of where you can see how just a little effort to protect them from smugglers and other bad guys would easily go a long way to save them for future generations.

It is very "save" able, in other words. So if you have ever had that sick feeling of, What's the use? It won't do any good, you don't need to have it about the Blue-throated Macaw. They are strong, spirited birds, they can use a flooded environment that is not good for anything except cattle ranching (hence won't end up as skyscrapers), and they get along fine even if cows, ranchers, etc. are on the property. So the prospects are bright as long as smugglers are stopped from taking the babies.

previous - next

Check out my complete and highly extensive archives.

Support the page by buying something safely and securely through Amazon. I never see your private information, but I get a small commission if you click through one of my buttons. My conure's favorite flavor of Nutriberries. Try it now!