Welcome to the Best Free Peachfronted Conure Information on the Planet

I've lived with Peachfront Conures Aratinga aurea for 30 years. I've bred 'em, trained 'em, even visited Bolivia to observe them in the wild. For more about me, click right here.

NOTE: Photobucket stopped hosting years worth of my photos without warning. Please be patient while I am replacing them.

photos and articles copyright 2012-2018 by elaine radford, google plus verified author

Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Pet Bird, on almost any device: right here.

It's real easy to contact me. Tweet or direct message me through Twitter by hitting this button:


Got a Peachfront, or thinking about getting a Peachfront? Here are some key posts you might like to read:

Some recent entries you might enjoy: happy 27th birthday to courtney - 2017-04-15
i no longer own the peachfront dot com domain - 2017-04-09
ronnie 1990-2017 - 2017-02-15
Ronnie and Sheldon try again - 2017-02-11
clear eggs 2017 - 2017-01-23

Even $1 buys several servings of mixed vegetables for my Peachfronts. Give my Peachfronts a gift by donating right here:

hosted by DiaryLand.com

7:32 a.m. 2012-08-23

look out, below!

We had a very rainy weekend, and I noticed some of the Mississippi Kites gathering pretty low in the neighborhood. At least one of them was "singing," well, maybe some of you wouldn't consider it a true song, but it seemed a bit more tuneful than the usual raptor cry.

My Yellow-crowned Amazon Cookie objected to the activity, but the Peachfronted Conures seemed a little more cautious. They let Cookie squawk at the low-flying kites and held their silence. When I talked to them about it, they simply responded to me with some very soft "purrs." I think they just don't know what to make of these kites. My guardian Peachfronted Conure Courtney will call out a cat any day of the week, but he just isn't ready to go toe to toe with a raptor.

For those who are not familiar with them, Mississippi Kites are a dragonfly eating species that breeds in my area. In fact, I think I can see the tree from here where one family nested this year. I think they are now all up and out of the nests, and the adults have left the fledglings to fend for themselves a little -- hence all the lonely calling in the rain, when there are no dragonflies to be found. They are migratory birds, and since they travel a long distance, all the way to Bolivia at least, they should be leaving us soon.

Courtney for one will heave a sigh of relief when they go, but I'll miss them.

previous - next

Check out my complete and highly extensive archives.

Support the page by buying something safely and securely through Amazon. I never see your private information, but I get a small commission if you click through one of my buttons. My conure's favorite flavor of Nutriberries. Try it now!