Welcome to the Best Free Peachfronted Conure Information on the Planet

I've lived with Peachfront Conures Aratinga aurea for 30 years. I've bred 'em, trained 'em, even visited Bolivia to observe them in the wild. For more about me, click right here.

NOTE: Photobucket stopped hosting years worth of my photos without warning. Please be patient while I am replacing them.

photos and articles copyright 2012-2018 by elaine radford, google plus verified author

Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Pet Bird, on almost any device: right here.

It's real easy to contact me. Tweet or direct message me through Twitter by hitting this button:


Got a Peachfront, or thinking about getting a Peachfront? Here are some key posts you might like to read:

Some recent entries you might enjoy: happy 27th birthday to courtney - 2017-04-15
i no longer own the peachfront dot com domain - 2017-04-09
ronnie 1990-2017 - 2017-02-15
Ronnie and Sheldon try again - 2017-02-11
clear eggs 2017 - 2017-01-23

Even $1 buys several servings of mixed vegetables for my Peachfronts. Give my Peachfronts a gift by donating right here:

hosted by DiaryLand.com

8:31 a.m. 2012-09-12

a salad experiment

Since I got tired of the Peachfronted Conures making such of a mess of their pellets this summer, I've been experimenting with offering a chopped salad between the hours of three and five. No other food selections during that time. Just the chopped salad. Sometimes it works, and sometimes they just pick out the corn.

Yes, I've seen the chopped salads that are soooo finely chopped that they're almost a pseudo-pellet, because the bird can't pick up anything individually, but I'm not quite yet ready to go to that extreme. The Peachfronts give me hope. Some days they pick out the corn, and some days they pick out the peas, and some days they pick out the carrots, but they're looking good, so I will give them some credit for knowing what they're doing.

previous - next

Check out my complete and highly extensive archives.

Support the page by buying something safely and securely through Amazon. I never see your private information, but I get a small commission if you click through one of my buttons. My conure's favorite flavor of Nutriberries. Try it now!