Welcome to the Best Free Peachfronted Conure Information on the Planet

I've lived with Peachfront Conures Aratinga aurea for 30 years. I've bred 'em, trained 'em, even visited Bolivia to observe them in the wild. For more about me, click right here.

NOTE: Photobucket stopped hosting years worth of my photos without warning. Please be patient while I am replacing them.

photos and articles copyright 2012-2018 by elaine radford, google plus verified author

Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Pet Bird, on almost any device: right here.

It's real easy to contact me. Tweet or direct message me through Twitter by hitting this button:


Got a Peachfront, or thinking about getting a Peachfront? Here are some key posts you might like to read:

Some recent entries you might enjoy: happy 27th birthday to courtney - 2017-04-15
i no longer own the peachfront dot com domain - 2017-04-09
ronnie 1990-2017 - 2017-02-15
Ronnie and Sheldon try again - 2017-02-11
clear eggs 2017 - 2017-01-23

Even $1 buys several servings of mixed vegetables for my Peachfronts. Give my Peachfronts a gift by donating right here:

hosted by DiaryLand.com

12:05 p.m. 2012-04-11

peachfronts are resilient!

what is left of the aviary after tropical storm bill
disaster photos � 2003 by Elaine Radford, all rights reserved

On June 30, 2003, the parrot porch was completely destroyed by Tropical Storm Bill. It was a miracle that the birds and turtles came through unharmed. Yellow-Crowned Amazon Cookie and older Peachfront Conure Sheldon, who had vulnerable cages, had been moved inside. The other two flight cages were very strong, and we thought they'd stand up to anything, certainly a June storm. One of them had a framework of six foot tall industrial grade stainless steel, from surplus that went back to the days of the mainframe computers, and the other was more recently built with a sturdy wooden framework. Still, your blood runs cold when a 20,000 pound oak tree falls through your ceiling. Despite the destruction of the actual aviary, the stout cages warped but did not crumble under the impact. Both flights had to be taken away as totaled, but not a feather on any of the Conures involved was harmed.

Peachfronts are resilient. They had to take up residence in some temporary cages for awhile, until we had the opportunity to replace their flight cages, but they were remarkably well-behaved about it. I think I was more shaken up than they were. They were calm again, two years later, during another prolonged stay in temporary cages when we were evacuated for Hurricane Katrina. Yes, birds like routine, but my gutsy little Peachfronts know how to roll with the punches.

Here's the back of the house with the aviary broken down to be hauled away:

back of house this evening, with bird aviary removed

Stay tuned. I'll show off the re-build soon.

previous - next

Check out my complete and highly extensive archives.

Support the page by buying something safely and securely through Amazon. I never see your private information, but I get a small commission if you click through one of my buttons. My conure's favorite flavor of Nutriberries. Try it now!