Welcome to the Best Free Peachfronted Conure Information on the Planet

I've lived with Peachfront Conures Aratinga aurea for 30 years. I've bred 'em, trained 'em, even visited Bolivia to observe them in the wild. For more about me, click right here.

NOTE: Photobucket stopped hosting years worth of my photos without warning. Please be patient while I am replacing them.

photos and articles copyright 2012-2018 by elaine radford, google plus verified author

Read my new book, The 10 Best Things You Can Do For Your Pet Bird, on almost any device: right here.

It's real easy to contact me. Tweet or direct message me through Twitter by hitting this button:


Got a Peachfront, or thinking about getting a Peachfront? Here are some key posts you might like to read:

Some recent entries you might enjoy: happy 27th birthday to courtney - 2017-04-15
i no longer own the peachfront dot com domain - 2017-04-09
ronnie 1990-2017 - 2017-02-15
Ronnie and Sheldon try again - 2017-02-11
clear eggs 2017 - 2017-01-23

Even $1 buys several servings of mixed vegetables for my Peachfronts. Give my Peachfronts a gift by donating right here:

hosted by DiaryLand.com

8:33 a.m. 2012-07-05

why was my first peachfronted conure, an import, so easy to tame?

Arthur was my first bird. Not just my first Peachfront Conure. My first bird. Therefore, I didn't think much about it, that he was so sweet and easy to tame down. However, I later got another imported conure to be his mate, the irascible Gwen. That bird was anything but tame. True, I got her to court Arthur and to teach him how to be a Daddy, so I never really tried to handle her, but I had the definite idea that she wouldn't like it if I did.

What made the difference in their personalities? Well, for one thing, Arthur was apparently captured and raised for export in one of those Bolivian villages where they take the babies out of the nest, before they are completely weaned, and they chew up the food for them and feed them from their mouths. No kidding. When I first heard a description of this activity, I instantly understood why Arthur was always so eager to try to put his head in my mouth and kiss me with his tongue. Heck, for years, I just thought he was one of those romantic French kissers.

In any case, even having lost a lot of his tameness in quarantine in a big pen with a bunch of other birds, he got it back pretty fast once he found himself in a caring situation.

previous - next

Check out my complete and highly extensive archives.

Support the page by buying something safely and securely through Amazon. I never see your private information, but I get a small commission if you click through one of my buttons. My conure's favorite flavor of Nutriberries. Try it now!